17 Mar 2021

Wednesday 17 March 2021

Rosmini College 90 all out in 33.2 overs

King’s College 92/2 in 19.3 overs

Kings First XI Vs Rosmini

With the highly anticipated top-of-the-table clash against MAGS being rescheduled as a result of another lockdown King’s had to adjust to playing Rosmini, after a weekend of no cricket. Having lost all three matches played to date, Rosmini were keen to put up a fight against the competition leaders.

On winning the toss they chose to bat due to a dew laden outfield which made bowling a challenge in the first half of the match. With a slippery ball Louis Anderson lacked accuracy in the early overs which allowed Rosmini to settle and contemplate a triple figure total. Seb Macdonald came on as first change and broke through when he removed the top scoring Rosmini opening batman for a worrying 27 runs. Nick Tapper who bowled in tandem with his skipper was parsimonious.

Max Chaplin Vs Rosmini

Max leads the team off the pitch in acknowledgement of his five-wicket haul

 It was the second change bowling of Patrick Maher and Max Chaplin that feasted on the weak middle and lower order as they picked up seven wickets between them. Maher was hostile and accurate in his spell of 2 for 8 in 5 overs whilst Chaplin was virtually unplayable as he returned figures of 5 for 10 in 6 overs. The senior spinner Toby Irvine was kept out of the attack until the penultimate over but went wicketless as Chaplin got his fifth wicket to end the Rosmini innings on 90 in the 34th over.

There was sufficient time for King’s to bat before lunch and Macdonald joined Achindra Molamure to open the innings in what was a changed pairing as Harry Sinclair had dropped down the order. Macdonald and Achindra batted with care and maturity to bring up the half century by lunch. Both lost their wickets after lunch due to injudicious shot selection and it was left to Joshua Olliver and Muhammad Abbas to reach the required target in the 20th over.

A Molamure


S Macdonald


J Olliver

16 not out

M Abbas

11 not out










Nick Tapper, Karl Wallace, Louis Anderson, H Sinclair, T Paranthoiene, P Maher, T Irvine, M Chaplin



M Abbas


L Anderson


N Tapper


S Macdonald


P Maher


M Chaplin


T Irvine




King’s win by 8 wickets

Proudly Sponsored By Jaguar