06 Aug 2020

Thursday 06 August 2020

As a result of the COVID-19 lockdown and the restriction on gatherings, the Rowing Awards Evening took place almost three months later than normal.

Rowing Awards 2020


Thankfully we were able to find a time in the school calendar where the rowing community could come together and celebrate the 2020 rowing seasons and the achievements of the rowers.

It was a fantastic evening which started with an opportunity for everyone to catch up while they enjoyed drinks and canapés in the school dining room. This was followed by the awards presentation which was held in the beautiful school chapel.

A number of rowers were recognised for their achievements but a special mention should go to Jack Mitchell (Year 11, Averill) who received three awards for his results in the U16 Boys single scull this season. Jack finished 2nd at the North Island Secondary Schools Championships.

Brendan Boreham
Head of Rowing


See below for the full list of award winners:

Horton Tankard for Best Novice Rower - Charlie Finlayson (Year 12, Selwyn)

U15 Most Consistent Rower - Raniera Whiu (Year 10, Parnell) and Thaddie Cryer (Year 10, St John's)

U15 Most Improved Rower - Callan Ogilvie (Year 10, School)

Don McKay Cup for Best Junior Rower - Jack Mitchell (Year 11, Averill)

Rowbotham Cup for Services to Rowing - Aden Urwin (Year 11, Peart)

School Trophy for Most Improved Female Rower - Tori Vincent (Year 12, Taylor)

Senior Girls Most Consistent Rower - Te Aria Jackson (Year 12, Marion Bruce)

Bishop Owen Award for Cox of the Eight - James Chapman (Year 11, Peart)

Guildford Trophy for Captain of Rowing - Tom Ogg (Year 12, Selwyn)

Caulton Trophy for Best Ergo Score - Jack Mitchell; 6:38 (Year 11, Averill)

Gregory Boland Cup for Best Senior Rower - Connor Hislop-Donaldson (Year 12, St John's)

U18 Most Consistent Rower - N/A

Macaskill Cup for Most Promising Rower - Ryder Ellis-Williams (Year 10, Parnell)

Trophy for Most Outstanding Crew - U17 8+

James Chapman (Cox) (Year 11, Peart)

Connor-Hislop-Donaldson (Year 12, St John's)

Alex Tooman (Year 12, Selwyn)

Mandela-McKree Jansen (Year 12, Parnell)

Cameron Abel (Year 12, Major)

Tom Ogg (Year 12, Selwyn)

Lauchie Craig (Year 12, Greenbank)

Charlie Ludbrook (Year 12, St John's)

Lachlan Pearce (Year 12, Parnell)

Award for Best Crew Spirit - U16 B VIII

James Chapman (Cox) (Year 11, Peart)

Georg Dalgleish (Year 11, Greenbank)

Eddie Holdsworth (Year 11, Sewyn)

Aden Urwin (Year 11, Peart)

Winston Yan (Year 11, St John's)

Charles Thomas (Year 11, School)

Baxter McGillivray (Year 11, Averill)

Felix Moran (Year 11, Selwyn)

Crue Ellis-Williams (Year 11, Parnell)

U17 Most Consistent Rower - Mandela McKree Jansen (Year 12, Parnell)

U16 Most Improved Rower - Felix Moran (Year 11, Selwyn)

U16 Most Consistent Rower - Jack Trusler (Year 11, Peart)

Patrick Allison Cup for Club Spirit - Tyler Wright (Year 12, Greenbank) and Tori Vincent (Year 12, Taylor)

Peter Dignan Trophy for Endeavour - Baxter McGillivray (Year 11, Averill)

The Club Small Boat Award - Jack Mitchell (Year 11, Averill)

Leith Menzies Award for Best Cox - James Chapman (Year 11, Peart)

Thanks as always to our sponsors Continental Cars Porsche and Structurflex

Rowing Sponsor Lockup 2020