11 Nov 2022

Friday 11 November 2022

We have had some great achievements this year for Business Studies and our partner YES.


As we approach the end of the schooling year, we would like to celebrate our successes including the students who were recently awarded prizes for the Auckland Central Region at the YES Regional Finals for young entrepreneurs. 


The Moana Balms team is made up of Year 12 students Eva Todd (Year 12, Middlemoore), Lilian Kidd (Year 12. Marion Bruce), Holly MacDonald (Year 12, Taylor), Ryan Manconi (Year 12, Greenbank) and Ben Caskie (Year 12, Greenbank) who pitched their business venture of organic lip balms to judges on the night and were placed third in Company of the Year for the region – an outstanding result. 


Other special mentions go to the Dream Fudge team of Jamie Walden (Year 13, Greenbank), Charlotte Brady (Year 13, Marion Bruce), Harrison Urquhart (Year 13, Major) along with the Treat Your Pup team - Isabella Simoni (Year 13, Middlemore), Kate McGregor (Year 13, Middlemore), Sophia Brown (Year 13, Middlemore), Maddie Prince (Year 13, Marion Bruce) and Kayla Assy (Year 13, Middlemore).  These teams were also selected to present to judges on the night for Company of the Year, only 8 teams from the Auckland region were selected to do so. 

First prize went to 'Rejuvenated' from St. Cuthbert's College, who’s sunscreen product was targeted specifically at teens. They will go on to compete at the National Awards in Wellington. 

Other awards went to Vigor (Amber Burley (Year 12, Middlemore), Alex Cooke (Year 12, Greenbank), James Nelson (Year 12, Marsden) and Claudia Moller (Year 12, Marion Bruce)) for ‘Excellence in Customer Service’; Woolshed Flats (Tani Henwood [Year 13, St John’s], Suede Cowley [Year 13, Selwyn] and Holly Ryan-Salter [Year 13, Taylor]) for ‘Excellence in Communication’ and lastly Pukapuka Co (Paris Wither [Year 13, Middlemore], Molly Masfen [Year 13, Middlemore], Jack Elliott [Year 13, Peart], Trelise Thornton [Year 13, Middlemore] and Maz Poole [Year 13, St John’s]) for ‘Cultural Excellence’. 

Our very own Barbara Etzinger has been nominated with 4 other teachers from the region for the ‘Sir James Fletcher Award for most inspiring teacher’. 

A huge congratulations to all our winners!