21 Feb 2020

Friday 21 February 2020

On Saturday the King’s College rowers took part in the annual Head of Harbour Regatta which takes place at Lake Pupuke on the North Shore. 


It’s a 900m sprint race compared to the 2000m racing which the rowers know so well. You would be forgiven for thinking that the shorter distance was easier. The wind at Lake Pupuke usually has other ideas and this year was no different. The rowers had to face a stiff headwind which meant that an otherwise three to four minute race now took five or six minutes.

Roughly 25 schools take part each year with the hope of winning the overall points trophy. King’s College has traditionally performed very well at this regatta and last year won the overall boys trophy. Points are awarded for first, second and third place in all divisions, so even a crew finishing in 3rd place in division 3 can accrue points for their school. Having no U18 rowers in the King’s squad meant it was always going to be tough to compete for points with schools that have a full complement of rowers. The King’s rowers were up to the challenge however!

Despite a valiant effort from all our crews, sadly this year it was not to be. The boys trophy went to Westlake Boys and the girl’s trophy was won by Westlake Girls. The overall school trophy winners on the day were Takapuna Grammar. King’s finished in 6th  place overall and in 4th place for the boys trophy.

The medal winning crews at this year’s regatta are listed below. Congratulations to our rowers.

1st place – Boys Novice double: Eric Zhou and Charlie Finlayson

1st place – Boys Novice coxed eight: Charlie Finlayson, Thaddie Cryer, Ryder Ellis-Williams, Hugh Malaghan, Raniera Whiu, Daniel Wyber, Callan Ogilvie, Eric Zhou, Oli Horton (Cox)

1st place – Girls U16 double: Te Aria Jackson and Grace Joyce

1st place – Boys U16 single: Jack Mitchell

2nd place – Girls Novice double: Te Aria Jackson and Tori Vincent

3rd place – Boys U16 double: Jack Mitchell and Hugo Hay

3rd place – Boys U17 coxed four: Lachlan Pearce, Alex Tooman, Mandela McKree-Jansen, Connor Hislop-Donaldson, James Chapman (cox)

3rd place – Boys U16 coxed eight: Jack Trusler, Hugo Hay, Jack Mitchell, Cole Barfoot, Laga Jensen, William Olde, Sam Power, Hugo Caughey, Charles Couillault (Cox)

3rd place – Boys U17 pair: Lachlan Pearce and Alex Tooman

Brendan Boreham, Head of Rowing

Thanks as always to our sponsors:

Rowing Sponsor Lockup 2020