20 May 2021

Thursday 20 May 2021

Last Friday, King's Rowing concluded a successful rowing season with their annual awards dinner, hosted at the College.

IMG 00010458


Reflections on the rowing season included a number of student and coach addresses to the attendees as well as a video produced by Waka Wikaire-James (Year 13, Parnell). Watch the video by clicking here:


The evening then moved to the presentation of accolades, recognising the hard work and accomplishments that the rowing students had achieved. See below for the list of award winners:

Horton Tankard for Best Novice Rower:
Charlie Law (Year 10, Selwyn)
U15 Most Consistent Rower:
Louis Upton (Year 10, Selwyn)
U15 Most Improved Rower:
Ben Thomas (Year 10, School)
Don McKay Cup for Best Junior Rower:
Lewis Mazza-Carson (Year 11, Peart)
Rowbotham Cup for Services to Rowing:
Jack Trusler (Year 12, Peart)
School Trophy for Most Improved Female Rower:
Amiria-Rose Monga (Year 13, Marion Bruce)
Senior Girls Most Consistent Rower:
Te Aria Jackson (Year 13, Marion Bruce)
Bishop Owen Award for Cox of the Eight:
James Chapman (Year 12, Peart)
Guildford Trophy for Captain of Rowing:
Tyler Wright (Year 13, Greenbank)
Caulton Trophy for Best Ergo Score:
Jack Mitchell (Year 12, Averill) (6:28)
Gregory Boland Cup for Best Senior Rower:
Jack Mitchell
U18 Most Consistent Rower:
Mandela McKree Jansen (Year 13, Parnell)
Macaskill Cup for Most Promising Rower:
Cole Barfoot (Year 12, Marsden)
Trophy for Most Outstanding Crew:

U16 4x:

Lewis Mazza-Carson

Cole Barfoot

Baxter McGillivray (Year 12, Averill)

Callan Ogilvie (Year 11, School)

Cox: Oliver Horton (Year 11, Major)
Award for Best Crew Spirit:


Lewis Mazza-Carson

Cole Barfoot

Baxter McGillivray

Callan Ogilvie

Daniel Wyber (Year 11, School)

Ethan Henderson (Year 11, Major)

Raniera Whiu (Year 11, Parnell)

Thaddie Cryer (Year 11, St John's)

Cox: Oliver Horton
U17 Most Consistent Rower:
Jack Trusler
U16 Most Improved Rower:
Aidan Hyland (Year 11, Marsden)
U16 Most Consistent Rower:
Baxter McGillivray
Patrick Allison Cup for Club Spirit:
Setai Setoga (Year 11, Taylor)
Peter Dignan Trophy for Endeavour:
Charlie Finlayson (Year 13, Selwyn)
The Club Small Boat Award:

Te Aria Jackson

Leith Menzies Award for Best Cox:
Oliver Horton


Rowing Sponsor Lockup 2020

The College thanks the community for their support of King's Rowing throughout the season and wishes to acknowledge the generosity of King's Rowing's premier sponsor, Continental Cars, without whom this would not have been possible.