28 Feb 2016

Sunday 28 February 2016

An uncharacteristic three run-outs amongst the top four slowed down King’s assault on the 300-run barrier and they had to settle for a challenging 267 from their 50 overs against Takapuna Grammar School on Thursday, 25 February.

  • King’s College 267/6 (50 overs)
  • Takapuna Grammar School 125 all out (50 overs)

Strong middle-order partnerships from Callum Douglas (39), Sam Wilson (61 not out) and William St John (85 off 80 balls) put the hosts under pressure from the start and they eventually conceded 38 extras, with a barrage of wide deliveries.

At the start of the innings it was looking cataclysmic for Takapuna Grammar School as Nelukshan De Silva smashed the opening bowler for four boundaries, including one that cleared the ropes, but he was unfortunately run out in the 5th over for 20 runs off 9 balls. Thorn Parkes was starting to build a useful innings when he was run out at 61/3. Callum Douglas and Samuel Wilson then started rebuilding until the run-out nightmare reappeared and the former had his promising innings (39 off 55 balls) curtailed in unfortunate circumstances. Samuel Wilson and William St John then put on a match-winning partnership of 125 runs – the former mainly in ones and twos whilst the latter was more efficient in going over the top in search of boundaries. Although William St John was dropped twice near the boundary, his innings was brave and delightful, whilst Samuel Wilson played the sheet-anchor role to perfection.

Once King’s got rid of the powerful Bremner, who was beginning to impose himself on proceedings, the life was sucked out of the TGS reply and they lost wickets regularly. The breakthrough was made by William Boyden who is now pleasingly in form and picked up two wickets. Similar harvests were reaped by George Cory-Wright and Nelukshan De Silva.   


G Hardy   2 N De Silva 20
T Parkes   14 C Douglas  39
S Wilson 61 not out W St John 85
H Dickson 0 T Jerram 8
Extras 38    



G Cory-Wright,
H Kukreja,
C Mabin


W St John   8-1-21-1 H Dickson  6-0-11-1
G Cory-Wright 6-1-17-2 C Mabin 10-3-31-1 
H Kukreja  4-0-16-0 W Boyden 5-1-19-2
N De Silva 3.3-0-10-2