18 Jun 2017

Sunday 18 June 2017

King’s came away from the Auckland Rowing Association Awards on Friday 17 June with flurry of top accolades including School of the Year. 

18581515 10155460739149883 1926720944629008071 N

Male Cox of the Year went to Zandi Sutcliffe (Year 12, Major), whilst Year 13 teammates Dan Williamson (Averill) and James Hall (Major) won both Junior Crew of the Year and shared Junior Male Rower of the Year.

It wasn’t only students who were acknowledged for their hard efforts and dedication to the sport of Rowing, with current King’s College parent Raechel Cummins winning Administrator of the Year and Head of Rowing Nick Lloyd taking home Coach of the Year.

Masfen Crew Edited

From Left to Right: Jack Stevenson (Coach), Murray MacDonald, Paula Storey, Peter Masfen and Alistair Dryden.

The 1963 Henley-winning coxed four were also honoured during the evening. The crew comprised of three King's College Old Collegians - Peter Masfen (1955-1959, Major) Alistair Dryden (1956-1960, School) and Murray McDonald (1954-1958, School)

Head of Rowing Nick Lloyd says it’s a great honour for the rowers of the College, past and present to be recognised for their achievements.

“It is our goal to build upon the successes of the past as we strive to move King's into the top echelons of New Zealand school rowing.”